Welcome to our website and Go TIGERSCOTS!!

On May 17, 2016, voters in the Athena-Weston School District will be asked to vote on a $4 million dollar General Obligation Bond for the Athena-Weston School District. If passed, AWSD will also receive a matching grant of $4 million dollars from the State of Oregon, bringing the total amount to $8 million dollars for the district. If approved, funds would be used for improvements to school security & student/staff safety, maintenance & renovations, energy savings upgrades, bus replacement, and technology infrastructure upgrades.

This video will provide information and an overview of the bond and proposed projects.

For more information about the bond, please visit the Bond Information Page.

Notice of Budget Committee Meeting

A public meeting of the Budget Committee of the Athena Weston School District, Umatilla, State of Oregon, to discuss the budget for the fiscal year July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2017, will be held at Athena Elementary Library 375 South Fifth Street, Athena, OR. The meeting will take place on May 9. 2016 at 6 p.m.. The purpose of the meeting is to receive the budget message and to receive comment from the public on the budget. This is a public meeting where deliberation of the Budget Committee will take place. Any person may appear at the meeting and discuss the proposed programs with the Budget Committee. A copy of the budget document may be inspected or obtained on or after May 10, 2016 at Athena Weston School District, between the hours of 9 a.m. and 3 p.m..

Zone 6 Board Position Filled

A new board member for the Athena-Weston School District, Clell Hasenbank, was sworn in during the regular meeting Monday, April 11. Mr. Hasenbank was appointed to fill a seat left vacant by Trenda Nichols for Zone 6 on Weston Mountain.

“I was born and raised in the Athena-Weston area and attended school here. I look at volunteering for the school board as a way to give back to my community. After completing my education and training, my wife and I moved back to the area to work and raise our family. One of the reasons we moved back was because we want our children to attend school in the Athena-Weston School District and experience all that it has to offer. I am looking forward to this opportunity, and hope that I can contribute to bettering our rural community,” reports Mr. Hasenbank.

Thank You, Wildhorse Foundation!

A BIG thank you to the Wildhorse Foundation for the Rapid Response Grant awarded to the Parent Group that has allowed for the purchase of six new 2-way radios for Weston Middle School!

Job Openings for Varsity Football Coach and Varsity Girls Basketball Coach

The Athena-Weston School District 29J is now taking applications for the positions of Varsity Football Coach and Varsity Girls Basketball Coach. These positions will be open until filled.

For more information and an application, visit the job posting.

Kindergarten Round-Up

It's that time of year! Tell your friends and family!

Where: Athena Elementary School
When: Wednesday, April 6, 2016 from 3:30-6:00 pm
What to bring: Your Child; Immunization Records; Birth Certificate

Call now to schedule an appointment: 541-566-3581

To be eligible for kindergarten next fall, students must turn five no later than August 31, 2016.

New District Superintendent/Elementary Principal Hired

The Athena-Weston School Board has hired Laure Quaresma as its new superintendent/elementary principal for the district. Quaresma will start her position on July 1, 2016.

After opportunities for the community to meet the two final superintendent candidates in February and additional interviews, the board signed a contract with Quaresma on February 26.